Welcome address by the Consul General

 

Dear residents of our consular district, compatriots, friends,

It’s my pleasure and honor to welcome you as newly arrived Consul General of the Russian Federation in Houston. Our consular district includes the states of the Southwest and Midwest of the U.S. – Iowa, Alabama, Arizona, Arkansas, Kansas, Colorado, Louisiana, Mississippi, Missouri, Nebraska, New Mexico, Oklahoma and Texas. Many of our compatriots live here and continue to positively contribute to preserving and advancing Russian cultural and historical heritage as well as the Russian language in the United States.

The South, and specifically the Lone Star State, traditionally play a significant role in the Russia-U.S. trade and economic relations. Trade turnover between our countries in 2019 exceeded $28.07 billion, which is $540 million more than in the preceding year. That growth happened despite falling hydrocarbon prices and deceleration of the world economy. Our country consistently ranks second by shipments of petrochemical products, mineral fertilizers and metals. We see considerable upside potential for economic cooperation. One of the examples is the recent teleconference between Texas and Urals business leaders that, in our view, helped understand the needs of each other and outline areas of mutual interest.

The Russia-U.S. space exploration cooperation keeps growing. We continue joint training and flight preparation for Russian cosmonauts and American astronauts.

Of course, one of our key missions is providing the full range of consular services. Unfortunately, the COVID-19 pandemic impacted business and tourist travel and led to numerous restrictions aimed at fighting this dangerous disease. We dare hope that after our common victory over the coronavirus achieved contacts will be fully restored.

I wish you good health and good luck!

Best regards,

Alexander Zakharov

Consul General

Приветствие Генерального консула

 

Уважаемые жители консульского округа, дорогие соотечественники, друзья,

Для меня удовольствие и честь приветствовать вас в качестве вновь прибывшего Генерального консула Российской Федерации в Хьюстоне. Как известно, в сферу ответственности Генконсульства входят штаты Юга и  Среднего Запада США – Айова, Алабама, Аризона, Арканзас, Канзас, Колорадо, Луизиана, Миссисипи, Миссури, Небраска, Нью-Мексико, Оклахома и Техас, на территории которых проживают многие наши соотечественники. Они продолжают вносить заметный вклад в сохранение и преумножение культурно-исторического наследия в США, популяризацию русского языка.

Юг США, и особенно Техас, традиционно занимают важное место в российско-американских торгово-экономических отношениях. Двусторонний товарооборот между нашими странами в 2019-м году составил св. 28,07 млрд. долл., что на 540 млн больше, чем в предшествовавшем периоде. И это несмотря на снижение цен на углеводороды, замедление темпов роста мировой экономики. Наша страна уверенно занимает второе место по поставкам продуктов переработки нефти, химической продукции и минеральных удобрений, металлоизделий. Видим значительный потенциал для наращивания экономического взаимодействия. Пример тому – недавно состоявшаяся телеконференция бизнес-кругов Техаса и Урала, которая, как рассчитываем, помогла лучше понять потребности друг друга, наметить конкретные сферы приложения бизнес-интересов.

Энергично развивается российско-американское сотрудничество в сфере освоения космического пространства. Продолжаются совместные тренировки и подготовка к полетам российских космонавтов и астронавтов США.

И, разумеется, одна из наших важнейших функций – оказание полного спектра консульских услуг. К сожалению, пандемия коронавирусной инфекции повлияла на бизнес- и туристические поездки, привела к ряду ограничений в целях предотвращения распространения этого опасного заболевания. Хотим надеяться, что после победы совместными усилиями над COVID-19 прежние связи будут восстановлены в полном объеме.

Удачи Вам и здоровья!

С пожеланиями успехов,

 

Александр Захаров

Генеральный консул Российской Федерации