Consul General’s Biography

 

Alexander K. Zakharov, born in 1960.

In 1984 he graduated from the Institute of Asian and African Countries at Lomonosov Moscow State University. Speaks English and Persian, studied German, French and Pashto. Holds the diplomatic rank of Envoy Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary (II class).

Mr. Zakharov has been in the diplomatic service since 1984, and has extensive experience working at the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and at Russian diplomatic posts overseas. In 1985-1990 he was posted as attaché at the Consulate General in Mazar-i-Sharif and at the Embassy in Afghanistan. In 1993-1999 – second secretary, first secretary at the Embassy of Russia in Iran. In 2011-2017 – Consul General in Houston, Texas.

Prior to his second appointment as Consul General in Texas Alexander Zakharov held the position of Deputy Director at the Department of North America, Ministry of Foreign Affairs, where he was responsible for bilateral relations with the United States.

He is a recipient of Russian and foreign awards, author of a number of scholarly papers.

Mr. Zakharov is married with two sons.

He comes from the family of well-known Soviet statesman Alexander Puzanov, who was the Chairman of the Council of Ministers of the Russian Soviet Federative Socialist Republic, and Ambassador Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary to the DPRK, Yugoslavia, Bulgaria and Afghanistan.

Биография Генерального консула


Захаров Александр Константинович, 1960 г. р.

Образование высшее: в 1984 г. окончил Институт стран Азии и Африки при МГУ      им.    .В.Ломоносова. Владеет английским, персидским языками, изучал немецкий,   французский,  пушту. Имеет дипломатический ранг Чрезвычайного и Полномочного   Посланника (II класса).

На дипломатической службе – с 1984 года. Обладает большим опытом работы в центральном аппарате Министерства и за рубежом. В 1985-1990 гг. – секретарь-референт Генконсульства в Мазари-Шарифе, атташе Посольства в Афганистане. В 1993-1999 гг. – второй, первый секретарь Посольства России в Иране. В 2011-2017 гг. – Генеральный консул в Хьюстоне (Техас).

До назначения вновь Генконсулом в Техас занимал пост заместителя директора Департамента Северной Америки МИД России, отвечал за комплекс вопросов, связанных с двусторонними отношениями с США.

Награжден российскими государственными и зарубежными наградами. Участник боевых действий в Афганистане.

Автор ряда научных статей.

Женат, имеет двоих сыновей.

А.К.Захаров – из семьи известного советского государственного деятеля А.М.Пузанова (Председатель Совета министров РСФСР в 1952-1956 гг.), Чрезвычайного и Полномочного Посла СССР в КНДР, Югославии, Болгарии и Афганистане.